English learning

آموزش زبان انگلیسی

English learning

آموزش زبان انگلیسی

Small Talk Practice: At a Bus Stop

Small Talk Practice: At a Bus Stop

متن زیررا بخوانید و ده اشتباه موجود در متن را پیدا کنید.

سپس جوابتان را با جواب داده شده در پایین متن مقایسه کنید.

Read the small talk below and find the 10 mistakes. Then check your answers.

Woman: We could ask for a better day, could we?

Man: I know. There isn't a cloud in the sky. I love this time of year.

Woman: Me too. The cherry blossoms are beautiful, you think?

Man: They sure are. But I heard he is calling for rain all weekend.

Woman: Really? Oh well. I have to work all weekend anyway. I'm a doctor.

Man: Wow. I'm sure you make good money with that diamond watch you have on.

Woman: Ah, this bus seems to be running late. How long of a wait is it already?

Man: I've been here for at least fifteen minutes now.

Woman: Where are you heading today?

Man: Actually, I'm going to the City Hall to cast my vote for mayor.

Woman: Oh, what a coincidence. So am I! Who are you voting for?

Man: Um, well...I'm still thinking about it.

Woman: Here comes a bus now.

Man: Oh good. Wait, that's not the bus we want. That bus goes downtown.

Woman: Well, it looks like we'll be waiting a little longer. I guess, I'll use this time to catch up on my reading.

Man: I love reading. Right now I'm reading a Stephen King book. Do you like Stephen King?

Woman: Not really.

Man: Oh, here's our bus.

Woman: Oh great. I thought it would never come. Well, have a nice day.

Man: Say, did you catch the news today?


Now check your answers. Did you find all 10 mistakes?

حالا 10 اشتباه موجود در متن را چک کنید.

1.
Woman:
We could ask for a better day, could we?
Correction: We couldn't ask for a better day, could we?

2.
Woman:
Me too. The cherry blossoms are beautiful, you think?
Correction: Me too. The cherry blossoms are beautiful, aren't they?

3.
Man:
They sure are. But I heard he is calling for rain all weekend.
Correction: They sure are. But I heard they are calling for rain all weekend.

4.
Woman:
Really? Oh well. I have to work all weekend anyway. I'm a doctor.
Correction: During small talk with a stranger, it is not common to discuss personal information relating to work.

5.
Man:
Wow. I'm sure you make good money with that diamond watch you have on.
Correction: It is not acceptable to discuss salaries while making small talk.

6.
Woman:
Ah, this bus seems to be running late. How long of a wait is it already?
Correction: Ah, this bus seems to be running late. How long have you been waiting?

7.
Woman:
Where are you heading today?
Correction: Too personal.

8.
Woman:
Oh, what a coincidence. So am I! Who are you voting for?
Correction: Politics is not a "safe" subject to discuss.

9.
Man:
I love reading. Right now I'm reading a Stephen King book. Do you like Stephen King?
Correction: The woman suggested that she wanted to end the conversation. The man did not take the hint.

10.
Man:
Say, did you catch the news today?
Correction: Thanks. You too. This is not an appropriate time to start a new conversation. The bus's arrival indicates that it is time to stop talking.

 

 

نظرات 1 + ارسال نظر
shiz شنبه 7 آبان‌ماه سال 1384 ساعت 12:46 ق.ظ http://shiz.blogsky.com

بابا من فکر میکردم انگلیسیم قویه
ولی حالا می بینم باید یکم در مورد خودم تجدید نظر کنم

برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد